A good New Year Honours for construction

The diverse skills and talents that shape the built environment were evident in a string of awards for construction figures in the 2015 New Year Honours. The significant number of honours for the sector prompted Construction Industry Council chief executive Graham Watts to comment on Twitter, “An extraordinarily good NY [New Year] Honours list for construction, engineering and architecture – best for a while”.

Construction’s honours were also notable for going beyond established captains of industry. Also rewarded were inspirational figures like Jason Anker, who turned to health and safety consultancy after being involved in a serious site accident, and twenty-something civil engineer Clare Gott, who received the MBE for work with the engineering charity Cameroon Catalyst that she co-founded.

The honours list includes CBEs for:

  • Keith Exford, chief executive of Affinity Sutton Group, David Bennett, chief executive of Sanctuary Housing Group and Margaret Clarke, chair of Hastoe Housing
  • architect Quinlan Terry
  • structural engineer Jane Wernick
  • contracting chief executives Stephen Fox of BAM Nuttall, and Andrew Wylie of Costain plus Paul Sheffield, managing director of Laing O’Rourke’s Europe Hub
  • planning experts Professor Peter Wynne Rees, formerly the City of London chief planner and Stephen Quartermain, chief planner at the Department for Communities and Local Government
  • Michele Dix, managing director for planning at Transport for London.

OBEs go to:

  • Rodney Bennion, former chair of trustees at the Construction Youth Trust
  • Arup former deputy chairman Cecil Balmond
  • Structural engineer Sarah Buck, director of BSW Consulting
  • Professor Paul Ekins, director and professor of resources and environment policy at University College London
  • Christopher Earnshaw, non-executive chairman of BRE
  • Peter Madden, former chief executive of Forum for the Future who is now heading the Future Cities Catapult
  • Charlie Mullins, chief executive of Pimlico Plumbers.

Recipients of the MBE include:

  • Jason Anker, director of Jason Anker Live, who has become a motivational and behavioural safety speaker following a major accident on a building site
  • Clare Gott, design package manager for WSP UK and co-founder of Cameroon Catalyst
  • Elizabeth Male, non-executive chair of consumer protection body TrustMark.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s